Bret Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/ Thu, 26 Apr 2018 18:51:03 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Thu, Apr 26, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-26-2018.html <p>AM - 5k with Finn early this morning. &nbsp;He needed the exercise and I was up anyway. &nbsp;Did 2000 meters of indoor rowing afterwards. &nbsp;</p> <p>PM - 5 more miles on the treadmill - very slow going. &nbsp;Not feeling very peppy. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 26 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 25, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-25-2018.html <p>PM - just shy of 6 miles on what was supposed to be an active recovery run - but I did not feel that great, ran too quickly, and negated the purpose of the run. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 25 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 24, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-24-2018.html <p>PM - treadmill workout 1.5 mile warm up then 6 x 800 @ 3:13 w/a 400 rest jog; 1 x mile @ 6:27 and a short cool down. &nbsp;Good effort. &nbsp;</p> Tue, 24 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 23, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-23-2018.html <p>PM - 4 miles easy on the treadmill at lunchtime. &nbsp;Tight schedule today, not much opportunity for anything longer. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 23 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Apr 22, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-22-2018.html <p>PM - long run on the treadmill- 15 miles with the last 2 at tempo pace. &nbsp;</p> Sun, 22 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 21, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-21-2018.html <p>AM - 4 miles early with Finn.</p> <p>PM - 8 miles on the Forsyth trail with my son-in-law, Marcus.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Sat, 21 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 20, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-20-2018.html <p>PM - treadmill tempo workout&nbsp;. &nbsp;1.5 mile&nbsp;warmup and short cool down. 5.5 miles at tempo pace. &nbsp;Good workout. &nbsp;</p> Fri, 20 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 19, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-19-2018.html <p>AM - 2 miles very slow and easy - on the golf course with Finn, just to give him some exercise. &nbsp;I was out of town until last night, and he needed to stretch his legs, but I did not have much time before work.</p> <p>PM - 6 miles on the treadmill at lunch - cold front came through during the morning and it was actually windy and significantly cooler than it was when I ran earlier. &nbsp;Ran poorly, felt lousy,&nbsp;for most of the run anyway. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 19 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 18, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-18-2018.html <p>AM - just 3 early miles on the treadmill in DC - had meetings on the Hill,&nbsp;actually that were going to tie up the entire day - and it was in the 30&#39;s too and dark. &nbsp;Stayed indoors instead.</p> Wed, 18 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 17, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-17-2018.html <p>PM - still in DC - same trail - added some distance (9.25 miles) today over yesterday&rsquo;s&nbsp;and ran around the Washington monument- cold and windy. &nbsp;</p> Tue, 17 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 16, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-16-2018.html <p>PM - 8 miles along the Mt Vernon trail from Crystal City over to the Lincoln Memorial and then the Jefferson. &nbsp;Cold and windy. &nbsp;Decent run though. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 16 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Apr 15, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-15-2018.html <p>No running today - church then travel to DC for a business conference&nbsp;</p> Sun, 15 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 14, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-14-2018.html <p>PM - 14 miles on the treadmill - felt very good for some reason.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 14 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 13, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-13-2018.html <p>PM - 6 miles on the treadmill easy.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 13 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 12, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-12-2018.html <p>AM - 3.1 miles with Finn around the neighborhood. &nbsp;Feeling slow and tired.&nbsp;</p> <p>PM - outdoors at lunchtime - nice day, but the pollen count is so high, I feel like I can taste it when I am running. &nbsp;Bleah. &nbsp;Better run than this morning, but HR is really too high for the pace. &nbsp;Need a couple of longer slower aerobic efforts to reset things.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 12 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 11, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-11-2018.html <p>PM - 8.25 miles on the treadmill at lunchtime. &nbsp;Felt tired and uncomfortable today.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 11 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 10, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-10-2018.html <p>PM - lunchtime run outdoors. &nbsp;New route - couple of lengthy hills I was not expecting. &nbsp;Slow as a result. &nbsp;</p> Tue, 10 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 09, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-09-2018.html <p>PM - 10 miles on the treadmill at lunchtime at an aerobic effort.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 09 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Apr 08, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-08-2018.html <p>Took the day off from running - following yesterday&#39;s race and long drive.&nbsp;</p> Sun, 08 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 07, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-07-2018.html <p>Checked the box for this one which has been on my list for a number of years.&nbsp; &nbsp;Weather was cool-ish in the upper 60&#39;s with a breeze and high humidity.&nbsp; Organization was decent for such a large race.&nbsp; They announced 35,000 participants at the start.&nbsp; &nbsp;</p> <p>This was a bit more difficult for me than it looked on paper.&nbsp; The climb on the bridge was about 1.5 miles and I tried to keep my effort even and execute a plan to make up time on the descent.&nbsp; I seemed to do that reasonably well, but was really pushing my HR limits and slowed a little bit in the last mile or so.&nbsp; 6:52, 7:14, 7:32, 6:34, 6:50, 7:15, and 6:41 for the last .2 miles.&nbsp; I did have a negative split - though I think that&#39;s to be expected where the hill is in the first half of the race and the second half has the downhill.&nbsp; Satisfied with the effort, time notwithstanding.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sat, 07 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 06, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-06-2018.html <p>AM - 5k with Finn around the golf course.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Fri, 06 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 05, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-05-2018.html <p>AM - 5k with Finn before work. &nbsp;Cold outside again. &nbsp;33 degrees this morning. &nbsp;It was in the mid-70&#39;s on Monday. &nbsp;Taking it easy today and tomorrow. &nbsp;Racing on Saturday. &nbsp;I think.</p> Thu, 05 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 04, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-04-2018.html <p>PM - 5 miles on the treadmill at lunchtime. &nbsp;Cold front came through this morning, cold and windy out (again). &nbsp;</p> Wed, 04 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 03, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-03-2018.html <p>PM - 7 miles easy on the treadmill at lunchtime. &nbsp;Lots of pollen blowing around outside, this time of year.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 03 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 02, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-02-2018.html <p>PM - 6.25 miles on a hilly route at lunchtime. &nbsp;Weather is warming up. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 02 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Apr 01, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-01-2018.html <p>Took the day off from running. &nbsp;Family time after services, brunch etc. &nbsp;Nice weather to just sit on the porch and enjoy the day.</p> Sun, 01 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 31, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-31-2018.html <p>AM - got out early with Finn and took him to the Forsyth trail - which is mainly boardwalk with some concrete pavement in a wooded / swampy flat area.&nbsp; Good for easy miles.&nbsp; Colder than I had expected in the upper 30&#39;s - and as a result there was frost/ice on some of the boardwalk areas.&nbsp; We happened upon a race on the trail - that maybe had 50 people in it, and good number of them were running with dogs.&nbsp; Looked like a 10k - perhaps a Humane Society run; would have been a bit sketchy/dangerous to race on the icy boards in spots.&nbsp; Nice run for me today - where I finished in the mid 7 min pace without really thinking about it.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Sat, 31 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Mar 30, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-30-2018.html <p>AM - 4&nbsp;miles on the treadmill before work.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 30 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 29, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-29-2018.html <p>AM - 2.5 miles with Finn - very slowly in the neighborhood followed by 2000 meters of indoor rowing.&nbsp;</p> <p>PM - 4.5 miles at lunchtime. &nbsp;Felt leaden. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 29 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 28, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-28-2018.html <p>PM - brutally harried day at work; squeezed in 5 miles on the treadmill at the gym before heading home. &nbsp;Needed to decompress. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 28 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 27, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-27-2018.html <p>AM - 2 miles on the treadmill before work followed by 2000 meters of indoor rowing.</p> <p>PM - 5 miles on the treadmill at lunchtime.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 27 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Mar 26, 2018 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-26-2018.html <p>PM - 4 miles on the treadmill on a short lunch break.</p> Mon, 26 Mar 2018 06:00:00